Unexpected Happiness


I have 3 drafts of posts that I’ve started and gotten distracted from in the past two weeks because life is complicated. I apologize that it’s been so long! But something happened yesterday that I must share with you.

I have been stressed beyond belief, feeling the pinch of how far I’ve extended myself. Four jobs, 200ish linear feet of beading (yes, I’m beading my own veil. I am a masochist.), eating salad while trying to avoid chocolate, and sleeping far less than I should finally took its toll. My face had literally exploded with stress-related acne. So when I finally had enough, I booked a salicylic acid chemical peel.

As I laid there yesterday and the aesthetician began to put the solution on my face I thought, “This isn’t too bad, it barely tingles.” Then about .07 seconds later, the burning began and lasted for 4 minutes. After all was said and done I would –  and plan on having another acne peel again. My skin looks fricken amazing this morning and I’m told it will only be better in the coming few days.

I decided that I needed a reward so I splurged with the new salted caramel mocha frapuccino from Starbucks. Got mine with non-fat milk, and requested to not have whipped cream but it came with it anyway and since there was a huge line I decided it wasn’t a big deal and didn’t mention the oversight. It was worth the calories! So skin care and slushy coffee turned to shopping, where I found great outfits for our upcoming engagement shoot. I was also pleasantly surprised to see that though it was tight on the girls, I fit into an 8 in this cute coat at H&M. Wahoo!

When I came home, I was happy that I had finally taken some “me” time, and I was just generally more relaxed. I felt like I could actually breathe a sigh of relief and that gave me a second wind, so I completed two smaller but lingering wedding projects. As I settled down for the night, satisfied that I’d finally put some things to rest, I saw an email from an old college friend. She said this:

I can’t believe its been 10 yrs since freshman year… pretty crazy. Anyway, I wanted to let you know that I’ve been reading your blog and have just been amazed with what you’ve accomplished. You are honestly and truly an amazing person and are so strong to make a lifestyle change like this and share it with everyone.

Since college, I’ve put on close to 60 lbs, both because of poor food choices and some deep stuff. For some time now, I’ve been trying to convince myself to drop the weight, but have just recently realized that it’s really all about changing the way I live. I wanted to thank you because I feel that your blog has helped me come to this realization and has also inspired me to make a change to be a better, healthier me. So congrats and thanks for sharing your continuing story! And good luck with all of the wedding prep… how exciting! 

I was so touched by what she said. I’ve gotten bunches of emails from people who have had the surgery or are planning a wedding and can understand where I’m coming from. And maybe I’ve been writing to them a lot of the time. But mainly I’ve just been writing for myself as some sort of catharsis, sort of like my facial/frap/retail therapy session yesterday. I genuinely had no idea that other people who aren’t really in my boat are getting something from this.

So this is for you, the reader who isn’t dealing with a surgical intervention or stressing themselves out over one day. I’m really glad that you can  find inspiration in my babblings. I’m also really psyched to see that, though we aren’t always the best at it, we can find happiness and motivation in unanticipated places. I didn’t think a facial could turn around the funk that I’ve been in for the past 3 weeks, but apparently a controlled chemical burn just gets my juices flowing – masochist, like I said. 🙂

Anyway, I hope you can keep pressing forward and making strides. Your kind words and thoughts have added to a momentum of good mojo that I’m collecting, so I’m doing my best to put it back out to the universe and I hope it finds you again. You deserve it.

Thanks for reading. – A

September 15, 2011. Tags: , , , . 2011.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

