5K? As in Kilometers?


I babysit for a family where the parents are just a little older than I and in pretty average shape. In their bedroom there is a picture of the mom running a marathon, and a towel that says “26.2 @29.9” next to it because she completed the race very shortly before her 30th birthday. It really got me thinking, because I am turning 30 this October. So recently when I was home in the Poconos for a family visit I decided to pack my running shoes.

View of the Market Street Bridge from the riverfront

I ran down a recently rehabbed riverfront to the court-house and then looped back through public square. It was just about 3 miles, and since I can comfortably run 5 miles indoors I thought I could handle it. I started off pretty strongly, but ultimately ended up with a run 2 blocks, walk 1/2 a block pattern. But I finished it in about 40 minutes, which makes me confident that my 12 minute mile didn’t suffer too much when it was on the road. If only I could reach an 8 minute mile!

When I got home I started looking into runs in the Philadelphia area and I did a little math. Who knew 5k was 3.1 m? I had basically run a 5k without any real training and I didn’t die. Maybe I won’t be able to hit the marathon mark anytime soon, but I can definitely down a 5k before my 30th. So I’m considering entering a Livestrong run in August. I think I just need to do it to get over the thing in my head that says I can’t. Then who knows? Maybe I will do the Aids Walk 5k in October…or even better, I can run the walk route. That one is 8 miles, but if I find a nice 10k (read: 6.2 miles) to squish in somewhere in September I should be on a good progression.

Perhaps this is too ambitious. Perhaps I am insane. But there’s something inside of me that is saying running a 5k 1 year, 1 month and 5 days after I had my surgery,  just 8 months before my wedding, and a mere 2 months before my 30th birthday is something I have to do, for me. And I feel like saying it here makes me a little more accountable for it, so it will actually get done. Plus, all those endorphins can’t hurt in the wedding stress department. Here’s hoping I don’t get shin splints and have to hobble down the aisle. 🙂

Thanks for reading! – A

July 7, 2011. Tags: , , , . 2011.

One Comment

  1. Meg replied:

    Definitely run the 5K! then see how you feel. Then maybe try to run a faster 5K, then a 10K …

    One of my biggest mistakes has been upgrading my training too fast–just like you’re thinking 8 miles before running 3, I started training for a half before doing a 10K and it killed my shins and stopped my running for almost a year. Take it easy, you don’t have to do it all at once.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

