Mental Balls of Steel


I am considering the unthinkable. I am considering purchasing my gown online. Silence your gasps! I have heard some good things! I went to a wedding in September where the bride got her dress on eBay for a very reasonable price, and it was great!  But I am a bit of a masochist. I am considering purchasing from a wholesaler in China. Okay, now you can gasp.

I have been stressing over paying for the dress. Hell, I’ve been stressing over finding a dress. At one point, I thought I had found the one but the sales lady really didn’t help me out in the confidence department. Fortunately, I’ve had plenty of time to work this out since I am not officially shopping until the kick off to my dress search 2011 in Boston with my maid of honor. That being said, I am looking at everything I can get my little eyes on to have a better idea of what it is that I want.

Classy. Nothing says "Bride" like a belly shirt.

This led me to the wholesaler’s web site. What a selection they have (good and bad)! But they are VERY careful to not use the actual manufacturer’s names, legal reasons I’m sure. But the pictures are from all the sites I’ve seen them: David’s, Alfred Angelo, even Vera. I had been looking through things and bookmarking. Then I found this beautiful dress. It somehow had everything I was looking for. It’s simple, modern yet classic, and elegant. And it’s plain enough that I can add my own bling’ed out sash.

The gown is $139. I know, it looks like a typo. And there’s free shipping. How could I not? Then M rained on my parade. He found some people bitching about the company online, saying they didn’t get their stuff. Turns out, this company is more like a wholesaler’s eBay. I have a sneaking suspicion that these people didn’t read the fine print. There’s general fine print from the company as a whole, but each seller can also make additional rules. In this case, I’m pretty sure I won’t get cash back if the dress is a dud. However, if it’s not I will have saved myself $1000+. I must be crazy to put myself through this stress. Then again, I have a year if the gown is a flaming piece of crap.

I think if I go into this thinking that I’ve spent $140 for hope and nothing more, I will be able to stomach it. So I ask you, my readers, is this worth the gamble? Spend $140 to potentially save a lot more? Let me know!

Thanks for reading! – A

 

April 14, 2011. Tags: , , , . 2011.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

