5 Oscar Gowns That Could Easily Be Wedding Gowns


Did you watch the Oscars last night? Me neither. I heard it was terrible. But the fashion!! That’s the best part. After carefully reviewing the gowns this morning, I noticed several of the garments that could easily fill in for wedding dresses, and not even in a pinch! Some of these frocks were pretty translatable right from the red carpet. Here are a few of my favorites, in no particular order.

Halle Berry looks phenomenal in this Marchesa gown. What’s more, I love the wispy train. It makes me want to say “I Do” to a gown in nude.

Mandy Moore looks very demure in this Monique Lhiullier gown. Given that I’ve been looking for ways to camouflage my arms in my gown, I was clearly drawn to the illusion neckline and arms with jewels. The classic silhouette of this dress is basically exactly what I’m looking for. Now if only Monique would make this gown for under $1500…..

Miley Cyrus is not someone I would look to for fashion advice. However, her stylist really hit the nail on the head with this beautiful gown from British designer Jenny Packham. The textural difference between the satin and the tulle, plus the addition of the sparkle at the waistline is really stunning. I’m not gonna lie, I’d try it on at the bridal store!

Hilary Swank is working this feathered Calvin Klein gown. I love how the color gradient goes from light to dark. This gown is beautiful, but I will admit that I think it’s a bit too much embellishment for a girl like me.

Hailee Steinfeld, that cute little girl from True Grit, wore this charming little Marchesa gown to the big show. Perhaps it’s the way she’s styled, but this light pink gown is just so precious and fresh. If we were having a more casual wedding, I’d absolutely go with a short gown to show off the shoes!   

What did you think about the gowns on the red carpet? Did any of them strike your fancy as a good gown to wear on your big day? I’m in love with a few, but I have a feeling they’re not in my budget. Good thing there’s not going to be a red carpet at my wedding. 🙂

Thanks for reading! – A

February 28, 2011. Tags: , . 2011.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

