Time to Catch Up – September


I really had no idea that anyone was reading this at all. I wrote three posts and sort of gave up because things got really busy – more on that in a second. But, as this year is coming to a close I have been reflecting on all the things that I’ve gone through and I really wanted to get back to this. So here goes nothing!

I sort of let this lapse around the end of August. Little did I know, I was a mere TWO WEEKS away from an engagement! M and I had been talking about getting married all summer, as well as attending a local church together. Religious, we are not, but we needed a little something in the mental peace realm so we found a great Unitarian Universalist church right here in Philadelphia. As we attended services weekly we began daydreaming about our wedding being in that very church. It’s old and beautiful with a huge main sanctuary and a tiny chapel. I was in LOVE with the chapel because it is full of old wood, stone and stained glass. I likened it to being inside a Fabergé egg. The catch? It seats 45, max, so it’s way too small for our wedding.

So back to the proposal part of this story. 🙂 M and I attended a particularly moving ceremony on September 12 and afterward planned on attending a meeting for persons interested in becoming members of the church. As we were waiting for the membership meeting to start after the service, we found ourselves in the chapel talking about how we could really see ourselves growing here in this community. We sat there talking quietly, as someone in a blue top was meditating several rows ahead of us, and before I knew it the conversation turned from our future to our potential family growing there too. It touched me so much, I teared up and then as if by some divine miracle, there he was on his knee with the most beautiful ring! Everything else is a total blur of tears and excitement (isn’t it always?) but I obviously said yes! So as luck would have it, we still got our special moment in the chapel. 🙂

We could barely sit still through the membership meeting and then rushed over to M’s mother’s home just a few blocks away. He, being raised Jewish, told her the story of the engagement leading with the church part. This did not sit well with the FMIL, though she has since mellowed on the idea since nobody is converting anybody (thank God!). Still, she was very happy for us and has really shown her true colors which are amazingly supportive. After that, we hopped back in the car and drove two hours to my family in the Poconos so that I could break the news. Low and behold, my baby sister got engaged that day too! As if that wasn’t enough, a few days later my brother asked his baby’s mother to marry him as well. Don’t ask me how my other sister, currently single, feels about all of this. Still, needless to say everyone was feeling very celebratory.

Clearly the rest of the month I was floating on a cloud. We joined the church, broke the news to the rest of our friends and family, and attended a few weddings that really gave us a lot of do’s and don’ts to take away. The next best thing to all of this was that I began an interviewing process that would end up being my new job! (Not sure if I mentioned this before, but I was let go from my job in July.) I will say, now that I have a job I feel like my wedding dreams are closer to being a reality, financially. I also continued to progress with the weight loss and finally went shopping for new jeans that are now obsolete. M has been so supportive and wonderful through all of this and I feel like we are only stronger for it.

Anyway, thanks for sticking this out with me while I catch up on the past few months. I promise that I will do my best to get back to real-time by the end of January, just stick with me. Also since M got me a pretty new laptop for Christmas, expect a vlog post or two soon!

Thanks for reading, and be well. – A

December 28, 2010. Tags: , , . 2010.

One Comment

  1. shelbylee replied:

    Girl, I like reading your blog! Keep it up! Also, you are AWESOME and I am so happy for you and all the wonderful things happening in your life!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

