Fancy Glass and Fabric Flowers


After doing a rough draft of what it would cost to have the wedding we want, we are about 30% over our original budget. We would like to do this shabang for $10k, hoping that M’s family would gift us the photographer. Unfortunately, we can’t count on it and are thusly in such a quandary. So what’s a girl to do when finances are tight but fabulosity is necessary? We must get crafty!

I tried making paper flowers a few weeks ago using velum paper as well as tissue in various colors. The flowers, though pretty, are really not what I’m looking for. I want a spring wedding and I can’t really rationalize a wedding in the season of growth without any real flowers, so I’m thinking the bouquets and boutineers will be real. (Though I must admit that I’m still toying with the idea of my maids carrying a purse with a nice cluster of fabric flowers on it in lieu of a bouquet.) But it occurred to me that I could probably get away with using faux-floral for decorations so I dug out my craft box, went to MarthaStewartWeddings.com and figured some things out.

After making two blooms, I decided I could do this and wanted to search out other fabrics to make flowers with. Though I don’t know what my colors will be yet I figured blooms in shades of white and cream were a safe bet. I also decided that I wanted to put them on pomanders and hang them on pews in the Church. I went to Wal-Mart (I know, it’s evil, but cheap) to get some different options and it turned out they are discontinuing their fabric department. Bad, long-term, but good in the here and now – everything was 75% off! The selection was a little sparse but I still found a lot of great stuff as well as foam balls to serve as the base for the pomanders.

It also occurred to me that going to thrift stores to get old sheets and curtains would be cheap fabric with a good amount of yardage so on the way home I hit this thrift store a few blocks from our house. The curtain and sheet selection left something to be desired but I managed to find a curtain set for $2 that was worth cutting up. As I stood in line I saw this sign that said “$5 Bag Sale” near the glass items. I asked the shop girl about it and was told I would be given a bag and could fill it for $5 from the glass aisles. I noticed a lot of vintage glass, so I grabbed a bag and went to town. Before I knew it, I had filled two bags with vases, old ice cream sundae cups, dessert dishes, candle sticks and even a tiny vintage cake stand that is only 3″ tall – possibly the cutest thing ever. 

When I got home and unloaded my bounty, it took up half of our dining room table. I was really excited because I’d seen a lot of mismatched vintage glass centerpiece ideas online, including one using milk glass and moss. The only problem is that all my glass is clear, and I think if I did something like this the bottom of the moss would show. However, there are ways of making faux milkglass, like this idea on RuffledBlog.com, a new blog find that I am obsessed with. Sidebar, the aqua and red table scheme is adorable and I’m heavily considering it!

All in all I spent under $50 at Wal-Mart and the thrift store and got just about everything for my ceremony decorations and a good chunk of stuff for my centerpieces. It was definitely my lucky day!

August 26, 2010. Tags: , , , . 2010.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

